Glenwood Caverns Adventure Park: It doesn’t get more Colorado than this!

 

Kids

Voted one of USA Today’s 10 Best Caves, Glenwood Caverns is a must for your family summer fun list. Three cave tours offer varying levels of difficulty to suit the whole family! I have a little dare devil, so this year, we opted for the Wild Cave Tour (10-year age requirement AND we finally made the cut). What is it!? Only the most extreme caving expedition a kiddo is permitted on, an adventure for the true thrill seeker.

Then and now

Then & Now (2011/2017)

Make the Most of Your Day Quick Tips…

  • Arrive early, when the gondola opens, to avoid long lines.
  • Claim a small $.50 locker before they fill.
  • Get in line for the bigger, more popular rides first.
  • Break early for lunch to beat the rush.
  • Don’t let the kids get caught in the speleobox. (Especially right before your 4-D movie begins!)

It’s hard to avoid – the one thing that happens and risks ruining the day for everyone. We generally count on Noelle to keep us on our toes: Water World wardrobe malfunction, lost races to the bathroom, and the time she didn’t get out of the elevator! But, this trip, it was me.

Theme Park Fail

I consider myself daring, for a mom. So, maybe it was first ride shock, or maybe just the fact that the ride swings OUT OVER THE CLIFF’S EDGE! But, I saw my life flash before my eyes…over-and-over again. Faint or scream, I made the obvious choice. A lot. With a scratchy voice and trembling hands, I exited the swing of terror, a theme park walk of shame, through the line of sweet little girls waiting to get on. Wide eyed, they kindly asked if I was going to be alright. I may still have the occasional nightmare, but hey, check that one off my list.

Swing

Park Favs

Tho I struggled with the Giant Canyon Swing, the kids LOVED it! They rode several times, throwing their hands in the air or striking nonchalant poses. I may have felt theme park envy.

The Alpine coaster was another top-pick. Scary enough to cling to the breaks but enjoyable enough for mom to survive. I’m sure the views are fantastic, but I’ll admit, my eyes were steady on the tracks and my heart was still jumpy.

The coming soon fav-to-be: Haunted Mine Drop. Opens THIS SUMMER!

Adventure of a Lifetime :: Our Wild Cave Tour was something spectacular. Stacked up against all the other amazing options, it was still unanimously #1 with my bunch. The 2-hour, underground crawl through spaces as small as 18 inches left us exhausted, in the very best way. It was a perfect grand finale for an unforgettable day.

 

 

Leave a comment