Shepherding a Mother’s Heart

As promised, I’m reporting  back from my summer study on Shepherding a Child’s Heart.  We ended up a bit off the subject in one of our core group conversations – or maybe the topic was led right where it was supposed to go, but we had an interesting discussion on how our children have provided spiritual guidance to us through innocent words and how amazing it is that God would shepherd our hearts in that way.  Some moms had very specific examples and some were more general, but we all agreed that our children have taught us at least as much as we hope to teach them.

So, maybe it’s simply that I’ve been more aware lately – maybe there’s no such thing as a coincidence…but in just the past few days, both of my children have shared important lessons on God and faith that have left me thinking.

My daughter passed along a simple, yet important message through song lyrics she had unknowingly changed.  She was attempting to sing Alvin & The Chipmunks’ “You Had a Bad Day” but her lyrics said…”You have a bad day, you sing about God and you turn it around”.  She kept singing it over and over in the car – which gave my sister and I a good laugh.  Finally, her brother pointed out that she had it wrong – I told him, “No, I think she has it right” 😉 

My son’s message was a little more direct and given the timing, felt very personal.  I just been pondering some difficult decisions (silently) and he asked me out of nowhere, “Mom, do you trust God”?  I smiled and answered, “Yes, very much”.  His response was clear, simple and straight to the point – he said, “You should trust him more than that”.  Wow.  Really, wow.  What could I say back to that?  He had no idea what I was thinking and certainly no way of measuring my faith at that moment, but he was exactly right.  As naturally witty and clever as he may be, I don’t think my six-year-old son was working alone on a message so profound.  It gave me chills – the good kind 🙂

Leave a Reply

