Think About Such Things

“Finally, brothers, whatever is true, whatever is noble, whatever is right, whatever is pure, whatever is lovely, whatever is admirable–if anything is excellent or praiseworthy–think about such things.” Philippians 4:8.

The great adventure of motherhood brings with it a variety challenges, some of which can be life altering.  It’s easy, in times of struggle, to become focused on the negative, to try to fix what has gone wrong, or feel down about things that don’t seem to be going our way. 

One very difficult day in my journey of motherhood, I sat in my OB’s office, having received heartbreaking news.  I looked up to see an artful display of Philippians 4:8 on the wall.  Sadness, hurt, confusion and an array of other emotions whirled inside of me, but, in that moment, I realized that I had a choice.  I could spend endless time and energy dwelling on painful thoughts, or I could move forward, concentrating on the many blessings in my life, and praising the Lord for his goodness – having faith in Him.

Philippians 4:8 is a powerful message and has played an important role in my life – even though I often forget to follow the wise advice.  I believe the message is applicable to all things, and can help minimize even the worst of life’s many complications.  I am going to try, in my mothering, and in all areas of my life to remain focused on the good–and think about such things.

Leave a Reply

