Quilting for a Cause

Time to organize your craft area?  How about a reason to finish that sewing project you started and never finished?

I first learned about Firehouse Quilts while visiting the Denver Firefighter’s Museum downtown.  This non-profit organization does wonderful things for women and children, and they offer several volunteer opportunities including tasks for those who don’t sew.  Check their website for specific volunteer/donation information: http://www.firehousequilts.org/

Mission Statement
Firehouse Quilts volunteers make snuggle quilts and donate them to Colorado fire departments, local ambulance services, low-income hospitals, victim advocate offices & full sized quilts to Women’s Crisis Center in Douglas County to be given to children & their mothers in time of crisis.

I started working on this quilt several years ago when I was first learning (and I haven’t improved much since then).  It went unfinished until recently – partly due to the arrival of our second child – but also because I wasn’t sure what to do with the wild piece of art it had become.  The fabric I chose included odds and ends I had on hand, which made for a funky look.  It didn’t match any room in our home, so I figured I’d move on to another project and finish that one later.  When I saw that Firehouse Quilters use fun, kid-friendly fabrics in an array of designs and colors, I knew what I was going to do with it.  So, I made the finishing touches and completed my masterpiece. 

The best part of all this was not finding a good home for a crazy quilt, but seeing that my children understood that our quilt would go to help someone else in their time of need.  I think they were able to relate well with the feeling of wanting a cozy blankie to cuddle when dealing with a frightening situation.  I hope this experience will  help grow their compassion toward others and empower them to make a difference.

5 Responses

  1. Any suggestions for “Beginner” sewing classes?
    I have hand-me-down machine and I need to figure out how to use it :-)

    • I can show you some basics! There are probably great online videos too. I think some local fabric stores offer classes and how-to workshops where you bring your machine and they educate you. I could probably benefit from that ;)

  2. Yes! Sounds like fun!

  3. I just want to mention I’m newbie to blogs and truly loved you’re web site. Very likely I’m likely to bookmark your blog . You actually come with impressive writings. Many thanks for sharing with us your web-site.

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 990 other followers

