Top 5 Stress Relievers for Fall

And so we say a sweet goodbye to summer…hello to busy fall schedules, brisk mornings, leaves for raking, holidays for planning, cookies for baking – maybe I’m getting ahead of myself, but as moms, our schedules get a little crazy this time of year, and who couldn’t use some extra stress relief – and not just for this season!

In my attempt to provide fun ideas for easing fall tensions, I found a variety of interesting thoughts on stress relief – some much more creative than others – and I’m going to have to try some of those!  But, after researching some of the most popular ideas, combining them with my personal thoughts, and condensing all that info (yes, I had a lot of thoughts) into 5 main topics, here’s what I’ve come up with…and not in this specific order :)

1. Healthy Lifestyle
This includes eating right, exercising moderately, sleeping at least 7-9 hours each night – depending on your personal needs, scheduling time for work and play, caring for yourself — because you need selfcare because others depend on you, and taking time to follow my list of stress relievers!

2. Friendship/Love
I believe that humans are made for relationship and for love – not just silly, puppy love – 1 Corinthians 13 love.  I believe that this type of social relationship is essential for human survival and allows us to thrive.  We may find this type of relationship in a mate, our children, family members, and friends that we truly love.  With this type of relationship comes socialization, companionship, self-disclosure, trust, and the fulfillment of an array of needs we may not even know we have.  Ok, now I just want to give all my friends a huge, stress-relieving hug.

3. Sex
I don’t think I need to explain this one, but incase you’re wondering my thoughts…I believe this to be an amazing gift that, when used appropriately, is one of the best forms of stress relief offered to mankind.  Oh, and I think that following the other items on this list (not simultaneously) may make this one even better for you.

4. Laughter
So, here’s something I came up with after doing some web research — laughter was a popular stress-relief topic, and I did find some thoughts on moderate drinking being healthy for the body and soul.  So, I put together a fun recipe that goes something like: martinis/wine/beer/whatever you prefer, woodfire pizza, and a group of your best friends…all in moderation, and not to be combined with item number 3.

5. Prayer/Meditation
It is my belief (and a lot of stress-relief professionals seem to agree) that staying true to yourself and that in which you believe is the one, most accurate predictor of whether you will feel a sense of self-fulfillment, accomplishment, and joy in the life you live.  My thought on this is that we must continually seek understanding  and guidance from the Lord for direction in our lives – consciously letting go of human judgement and following His will rather than our own.

One Response

  1. Good thoughts, my friend!

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 990 other followers

