Training the Heart

In my best efforts to get this parenting thing right the first time around (and I’m still in need of much grace), I’m taking part in a summer study on Shepherding a Child’s Heart by Tedd Tripp.  I’ve found the overall message of this study to be very thought-provoking, and not in a deep intellectual way, but a more obvious, “I’ve really missed the boat”,  sort of way.  The message is one that I think we, as busy parents, often forget – we’re not here to simply correct our children’s bad behavior – we’re here to speak to their hearts, and let the convictions of their hearts guide their good behavior.

Proverbs 22:6 explains, “Train a child in the way he should go, and when he is old he will not turn from it.”

Luke 6:45 says, “For out of the overflow of the heart the mouth speaks.”

As we continue in this study, I will pass along good suggestions.  For now, I’m finding that the consciousness of truly teaching my children why we want to behave well rather than simply correcting their bad behavior for social acceptance – or mommy sanity – is giving me the insight I have needed for several of my parenting struggles.

One Response

  1. Love this! Sometimes I get lost in the day-to-day parenting and need to be reminded of the big picture “job” I am fulfilling. Awaiting more entries!

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 990 other followers

